The Del Norte wrestling team continues on its torrid pace, as the Warrior boys and girls teams traveled to Grants Pass to compete in the Grants Pass Winter Kickoff beginning Friday and carrying over into Saturday.  The Warrior girls took home the overall team title, winning the 24-team tournament, with seven individual wrestlers earning placer medals.

Danika Scott won her third consecutive individual tournament title, while Emily Ricks and Jenny Schaad both finished runners-up in their respective brackets.  Adenne Schaad, Avary Wiley, Claire Taylor and Savannah Williams each played fourth in their respective weight classes as well.

On the boys’ side, the Warrior varsity squad placed fourth overall in the 34-team field with 129 team points.  Crater won the tournament with 273 team points, followed by host Grants Pass with 210 points and Dayton (Ore) with 180 points.

Individually, Del Norte’s Eddie Hartwick, Chaz Harrison, Skyler Moore and Kurtis Turner each placed third in their weight classes, while Blake Allen and Brandon Jones placed fourth overall in their brackets.  Mike Weiland and Andre Aflague each brought home first place medals in the junior varsity tournament as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *